Phantom Coaches Hearse Club Forums: Ricky T - building an Ecto - Phantom Coaches Hearse Club Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Ricky T - building an Ecto

#1 User is offline   RickyT Icon

• Occasional User
  • PipPip
  • Group: Registered Users

Posted 04 January 2011 - 05:25 PM

Hey everyone,

This is my first time here on this forum, and to be honest I'm here to absorb some of your technical hearse knowledge! Regular Caddy forums aren't much good for hearse stuff. My name's Rick (or Ricky T, which is my nickname at work where there are 3 other "Ricks" - T is my middle initial).

I have a 1960 MM Ambulance and it's my 3rd Cadillac. My first one was a 59 Superior Landau which I sold in 2005 to Karen Morgan in Western Australia, and my 2nd Caddy was a '64 Convertible, and I sold it to buy this '60 Ambo that I'm working on now.

I bought my 1960 MM Ambulance from a bloke in Mexico. Some of you might know the car better than I do, I only became aware of it when a friend on the Ecto-1 Forum told me about it. Apparently it originated in Colorado and somehow ended up in Mexico. I suspect it had been south-of-the-border for nearly 20 years, however the registration sticker on it says it was last registered in 1996. I honestly don't know the history of it, all I can say is it was there, I liked it, it had a Mexican title, the car dealer had a good reputation and references, so I bought it. That was in November 2009.

The car finally left Mexico around March 2010, transported through Loredo TX, to Battle Ground WA where it was cleaned and containerised, and it arrived in Sydney Australia in August 2010. And now it's in my driveway!